Shop   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Fellows of the Institute, AIA St. Louis

AIA St. Louis Fellows of the Institute 

 George I Barnett, FAIA, First AIA St. Louis Fellow

The American Institute of Architects bestows the honor of Fellowship upon its members who have distinguished themselves in areas of practice.  Elevation to Fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of the architect as an individual but also elevates those architects who have made significant contributions to architecture and to society.


Of the 80,000 members of The American Institute of Architects, just over 3,000 architects have been honored by Fellowship. Each year at the AIA National convention, new Fellows are inducted into the AIA College of Fellows.  To learn more about the College of Fellows, click HERE.   Fellowship is awarded based on an architect's work that:


     Promotes the aesthetic, scientific and practical efficiency of the profession (design, urban design or preservation); or


     Advances the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training, & practice (education, research, literature, or practice); or


    Coordinates the building industry, & the profession of architecture (led the Institute or led a related organization; or


    Ensures the advancement of the living standards of people through the improved environment (public service, government, industry or organization); or


    Works to bring ever-increasing service to society (alternative career, volunteer work with organizations not directly connected with the built environment, or service to society).


Below is a list of the Fellows of AIA St. Louis:

Year of Elevation  First Name Last Name
1861 George I. Barnett*
1861 Henry G. Isaacs*
1874 Thomas B Annan*
1883 H. Wiliam Kirchner*
1885 Louis C. Bulkley*
1889 John Beattie*
1889 Frederick W. Folk*
1889 Pierce P. Furber*
1889 Thomas J. Furlong*
1889 Charles C. Hellmers, Jr.*
1889 Charles E. Illsley*
1889 Jerome B. Legg*
1889 Theodore C. Link*
1889 George R. Mann*
1889 Charles F. May*
1889 J.H. McNamara*
1889 Charles K.E. Ramsey*
1889 Alfred Paist Rosenheim*
1889 Isaac S. Taylor*
1890 Charles W. Clark*
1890 William E. Eames*
1890 Kivas Tully*
1890 Thomas Crane Young*
1891 Ernst C. Janssen*
1891 William B. Ittner, Sr.*
1891 G.W. Helmsburger*
1894 Joseph Paul Annan*
1894 Casper D. Boisselier*
1894 Edmund Manny*
1894 Craig McClure*
1894 Louis O. Mullgart*
1894 Robert W. Walsh*
1894 Frederick Widmann*
1894 John Ludwig Wees*
1897 Frederick C. Bonsack*
1897 William Albert Swasey*
1902 John Lawrence Mauran*
1906 James P.F. Jamieson*
1909 Ernest J. Russell*
1914 Ernest C. Klipstein*
1915 George F.A. Brueggeman*
1923 Louis LaBeaume*
1925 Walter L. Rathmann*
1936 Wilbur Tyson Trueblood*
1938 Eugene S. Klein*
1940 Guy Study*
1941 George W. Spearl*
1944 W. Oscar Mullgardt*
1952 Lawrence Hill*
1955 Harris Armstrong*
1957 Joseph D. Murphy*
1959 Kenneth E. Wischmeyer*
1962 Frederick W. Dunn*
1964 Eugene J. Mackey, Jr.*
1964 Joseph Passoneau*
1964 Eric W. Smith, Jr.*
1964 Hari Van Hoefen*
1965 Robert Elkington*
1966 John David Sweeney*
1967 Rex L. Becker*
1967 George E. Kassabaum*
1967 Charles Erwin King*
1967 Buford L. Pickens*
1969 Gyo Obata
1970 Gerhardt T. Kramer*
1972 Betty Lou Custer*
1973 George F. Hellmuth*
1974 Robert E. Entzeroth*
1975 Verner I. Burks, Jr.*
1976 Kenneth M. Schaefer*
1977 Richard L. Bliss*
1980 Thomas H. Teasdale
1982 William A. Bernoudy*
1983 Constantine E. Michaelides
1985 William Bowersox
1987 Chester Roemer*
1989 Albert B. Fuller, Jr.*
1989 Gergory S. Palermo
1990 H. Curtis Ittner*
1990 Larry Self
1991 Eugene J. Mackey, III*
1992 William R. Rupe
1992 Jerome J. Sincoff
1993 Alan R. Sumner
1995 Doris Andrews Danna
1995 Louis R. Saur
1995 William W. Stewart
1998 Jamie Cannon*
1999 Dan S. Mitchell
1999 George Nikolajevich
2000 Clark S. Davis
2000 Brad Simmons
2002 W. Philip Cotton, Jr.*
2006 William Odell
2010 John Guenther
2010 Kevin Flynn
2011 Andrew Trivers
2011 Mary Ann Lazarus
2012 Robert W. Schwartz
2013 Susan Pruchnicki
2016 Philip Durham*
2017 John Burse
2017  Karl Grice
2018  James Kolker

* deceased

more Calendar

Webinar: Key Approaches to Commercial Bathroom and Shower Design

Webinar: Discover the Restorative Impact of Perceived Open Space

TRC Featured Products


The American Institute of Architects St. Louis Chapter 




 911 Washington Avenue, Suite 100
 St. Louis, Missouri 63101
 314-621-3484, phone  /
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal